BBC interviews Dr. Michael Lim The Travelling GourmetTM

Story and photos by Dr. Michael Lim The Travelling GourmetTM

All rights reserved

Tuesday, 28 October, 2014

The indomitable and intrepid Travelling GourmetTM goes to the BBC studios to…

MEET charming Linda Yueh, the BBC’s Chief Business Correspondent to be interviewed on her show called “Talking Business”. We were to discuss subjects close to my heart, namely food and restaurants, Singapore’s increasing culinary sophistication, Celebrity Chefs and other related matters. Before the interview, I had to do make-up! A very nice Australian Make-Up artist did the special make-up for me with hair spray and potions and what not, and told me with a chuckle, “I’ll make you look 30 years younger!” I replied, ‘Then I’ll look like a baby! Ha! Ha!” She told me she used to do the make-up for the famous Jay Leno who was the first to do what is now known as the “Talk Show”. Then it was chill-out time while the studio technicians got all the cameras and microphones ready for filming. I had a glass of ice water but would have preferred Champagne if there had been any!

In the recording studio I met the other two panellists. Andrew Khoo, the Secretary of the Singapore Restaurant Association and Ivan Brehm, Head Chef of Bacchanalia restaurant. We sat down in comfy armchairs and got wired up for sound with tiny black microphones. Then the recording began. Linda Yueh looking glamourous in a shocking red dress did two bubbly introductions, one for the American audience and one for the British audience. In front of her but out of camera sight was an electronic teleprompter. Linda is very smart and well qualified with degrees from Yale, Harvard and a PhD. from Oxford University in the UK.

We discussed many fascinating topics like why so many people want to open restaurants. Is it the glamour or something more primeval because ultimately…no food no life. I always say, “Food is life, life is food!” I told Linda that just having a Celebrity Chef name for your restaurant does not guarantee success if your Sous Chef cannot deliver the goods…and the price to quality ratio is wrong! This is clearly the case for Jamie Oliver’s restaurant in Vivo City which opened to great fanfare not long ago, but is now seeing very poor business. Restaurant insiders tell me it cannot stay open for long at this rate. In fact, my good friend, Danny Wong, the dynamic GM of the prestigious Mandarin Orchard Hotel told me, “I went to try the food and it was bad and so was the service…”

The show is slated for broadcasting worldwide in December 2014. I shall keep you updated on the exact dates and times once I get them.

Life is like ice cream, eat it before it melts! Enjoy!

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

BBC’s Talking Business with Linda Yueh examines the business stories and economic trends that are re-shaping our world.

Linda sits down with newsmakers to talk about what these changes mean not just for businesspeople, but for everyone.

 Insightful and lively discussions, distinctive films, and Linda’s own unique analysis make this show a must-watch for anyone who is interested in “talking business”.

It is filmed on location across the globe and at its own studios in Singapore, London and Washington DC.

Transmission times

Talking Business is broadcast on BBC World News at the following times:

Friday 1430 GMT

Saturday 0030 GMT

Sunday 1230 GMT

Sunday 1830 GMT

Monday 0130 GMT/ Sunday 2130 EST/ 1830 PST (North America only)

Tuesday 0230 GMT/ Monday 2230 EST/ 1930 PST (North America only)

Tuesday 2330 GMT/ Tuesday 1930 EST/ 1630 PST (North America only)

BBC NEWS CHANNEL

Saturday 2030 UK

Advertisements

About thetravellinggourmet

As a renowned Travel, Food & Wine Writer he has travelled the world in a keen & indomitable pursuit of exotic delicacies & fine wines. His articles have been published in over 20 prestigious publications, both local & international. Dr. Lim has toured and trained in Wine Evaluation & Oenology in most of the world's top wine producing areas from France to Australia. The Travelling Gourmet says, "Gastronomy has no frontier. These are the gastronomic voyages of The Travelling Gourmet. My unending mission. To explore strange new cuisines, to seek out new wines and new culinary experiences, to boldly go where no gourmet has gone before...." Have pen, will travel. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopy, recording, or any other information storage & retrieval system, without permission from Dr. Michael Lim The Travelling Gourmet and/or MSN. Material may be works of fiction. Names, characters, places and incidents may be true but may also be products of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance whatsoever to actual person or persons, either dead or living, events, or locales may be entirely and purely coincidental and unintentional. No part of this website may be used to villify others or for criminal purposes. Interests: Travel, Food, Wines, Cooking, Wine Appreciation, Parachuting, Languages, Music, Reading, Swimming, Hunting, Ballet, Fencing, Archery, Anthropology and more... The Travelling Gourmet is a copyrighted trademark. All rights and photos reserved. No part may be reproduced without permission.
This entry was posted in Art, Entertainment, Fabulous Food, Gorgeous Wines!, Food and drink, Friends & Comrades, Gourmet cuisine, News and politics, Organizations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s